Special Brownies…

I don’t know why, but I don’t like to post a new blog every day. Not even every week. I feel that it’s something a bit more special that way. It’s not something that always happens. I also don’t like to write when The Husband’s home. I quite enjoy my time with him, plus he’s mildly distracting. All that being said, I felt that I HAD to post something today!

The Husband and I don’t really celebrate Valentine’s Day. I, like Phoebe from “Friends”, don’t like flowers; it makes me sad when they die. I don’t like getting chocolates and I don’t need a stuffed bear. Call me crazy but I don’t really like jewelry. I would much rather have a scarf. If I do ask for something or receive something, it’s typically something extremely practical. Last year I got a food processor. This year, a Shark Steam Mop. Can you say, AWESOME!

Since the way to a man’s heart, The Husband included, is through his stomach I thought it would be nice if I surprised him with some homemade brownies. Now I feel that it’s a good time to inform you that I SUCK at brownies! I don’t know what it is. I have just never been successful at from scratch brownies. Not only that, but we were out of not only milk, but eggs too. The first thing that came to mind was, VEGAN!

Now, to most people, I feel that “VEGAN” is a scary word. No meat, no dairy, no honey, no thank you. But back in Oregon it’s pretty normal. Most local restaurants have vegan options. Some of the best cupcakes I’ve ever had were vegan.

I started doing some sleuthing online and found this recipe: www.guiltykitchen.com/2010/03/19/the-ultimate-vegan-brownies/

I had to do some tweaking. I didn’t have any coconut oil so I used walnut oil. I didn’t have any bittersweet chocolate, instead I used some dark chocolate chips. And I didn’t have any coffee, so I just omitted that. Since I was getting rid of most of the bitterness of the brownies I also halved the sugar, using 1/2 cup of white and 1/2 cup of packed brown.

I have to admit, while I was making these I was pretty worried. Again, never having brownies come out was daunting enough, but making them vegan, and then making them taste good? Was I really doing this?

Anyway, here’s how it went down. First, I melted the chocolate with the walnut oil and the vanilla.

Sifted the dry ingredients together.

Before I mixed the dry ingredients and the melted chocolate, I got my flaxseed ready.

I then mixed the flaxseed into everything and put the complete mixture into an 8×8 pan and baked for 30 minutes.

I was in amazement when these came out of the oven! I mean, I know that flaxseed can be used as a leaven but DANG! These brownies had NO eggs and look, they’re mile high! Not only did they look good, they tasted good too! They were super crumbly, but they were still very good! They would have been even better with milk or ice cream, almond milk if you’re sticking to that vegan vibe. I will warn you that these are a bit gritty, but that’s because of the whole wheat flour and flaxseed. I think I may have given myself sugar gut after eating these… but it was totally worth it!

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY! Tell the ones you love that you love them, and the ones you really love… make them some brownies!

Leave a Reply

