Ball and Biscuit…

Buttermilk. No, it is not made of butter. No, it does not taste good on it’s own; unless, of course, you know that it’s increadably sour and you like that. Yes, it is super think and creamy. And YES, it has less fat than regular milk. So ask yourself, “Why haven’t I been using this stuff more often?!”.

I love buttermilk. But I don’t think I love it as much as The Husband loves buttermilk. I think if I could somehow create a meal that had buttermilk, polenta, and fennel seeds he’d be in heaven. I use buttermilk in more than just pancakes; I use it when I make mashed potatoes, instead of butter or cream. I use it when I make my homemade Mac ‘N’ Cheese. I use it for dredging when making crispy baked chicken or baked fish sticks. Of course it’s used in countless sweets, Red Velvet Cake probably comes first to mind. But probably The Husband’s favorite use of buttermilk of all time… Buttermilk Biscuits.

I’ve made these before, quite often even, seeing as they are a frequent request in my house; “Rachel! Can you PLEEEEEEEASE make biscuits?!”. How many times do you think I’ve heard that? Whatever your guess is, multiply it by 50. I’ve only made the typical cutout buttermilk biscuits once. They didn’t turn out great; they weren’t flaky, they didn’t rise great, there just seemed to be something a little off about them. Because of this I pretty much stuck with the buttermilk drop biscuit. Still good, just not the same.

The Husband and I were grocery shopping, one of our bimonthly adventures, and on the list was baking powder. We opted to go with Bob’s Red Mill instead of the typical Clabber Girl. I love Bob’s Red Mill. Not only is it an Oregon company, but it’s employee owned, they don’t bromate their flour, and they have a fantastic line of natural and organic products (no, I’m not getting paid by Bob’s Red Mill for saying this). One of the other things I love about Bob’s Red Mill is that on every package there is a recipe for the product inside. Well, the recipe on the baking powder package happens to be for buttermilk biscuits.

Unlike other biscuit recipes I’ve used, it’s pretty minimal in the ingredient department. Five in total; just flour, baking powder, canola oil, salt, and, of course, buttermilk.

(I’ll explain in a later post why my baking powder is in an old yogurt container.)

Like most baking, the dry ingrediants get mixed together, the wet ingredeants get mixed and then you mix them both together.

After mixing all the ingredients, the recipe calls to form the dough into a “ball”. This was easier said than done. The dough was so flaky, which I guess was a good sign, that it wouldn’t clump together. I did the best I could, and then just kind of put the leftover crumbs on top. I figured that since I had to roll out the dough anyway, the crumbs would just kind of get mashed back in. I did a series of folds, rolling the dough out, then folding it again. My only regret was I think I rolled the dough out a bit too thin.

I made these biscuits for our anniversary breakfast. Well let me correct that, The Husband and I made these for our anniversary. Although I mixed the dough and rolled it, he cut the biscuits out, so I suppose I should include him in the making of. Since it was our anniversary and we are both goofballs, we definatly made a few heart shaped biscuits.

Although it didn’t say to, I baked these on my baking stone. Oh, have I not told you how much I LOVE my baking stone! Well, I love it. Anyway, like I said, I think I may have rolled the dough out a bit too thin because the first batch or two weren’t as fluffy as the latter batches; although they were still quite tasty. I have to say, all in all, these biscuits were MUCH better than any other recipe I have used. They were super flaky, and were gone within just a few days. They were such a hit that I think the Bob’s Red Mill Baking Book my be in my Amazon future.

The whole time I was making these, this song was suck in my head. I find it timely seeing as The White Stripes just recently, officially disbanded. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

